Coincidence

ff564cd21a96f50c59f33c249312e64b

When I was young I loved to fight,

Within my self-conscious mind,

Better read and well spoken yet,

Led by thoughts I knew I should hide,

 

They prayed for your body and mind,

Then saved your soul through remorse,

It felt like a to-the-grave lie,

Burning low and wanting more.

 

Lace your boots, let’s go out of town,

Far from home to where the desert is long,

We can hunt for riches and gold,

Take the view and then talk till dawn,

 

And your guess is as good as mine,

Life’s of cinematic worth,

And since we met it’s been kind,

Like a dream I get to live with you first.

 

Coincidence,

The cards we wrote,

The path we chose,

The patterns in the window,

A tumbleweed I drove us through,

Explodes into,

The summer that we spent in bed,

If righteously made,

The narrative played is a Broadway show,

I’ll wait for you in Act 3 after life has let me go.

 

My favorite secret kept for weeks,

Chemistry and conflict denied,

A language we became fluent,

A second pair of hands you supplied,

 

And there’s so much tape to rewind,

In terabytes between two lives,

The skylines are slowly filled in,

And exhaled in a smile and in a sigh.

 

Coincidence,

The cards we wrote,

The path we chose,

The patterns in the window,

A tumbleweed I drove us through

Explodes into,

The summer that we spent in bed,

If righteously made,

The narrative played is a Broadway show,

I’ll wait for you in Act 3 after life has let me go.

Leave a Reply

