I Am A Stray

Screen Shot 2013-09-25 at 8.33.14 AM

Was I wrong to want you nearer?

To take my pulse and make it clearer,

The weight of this I could bear if I wasn’t so scared,

I guess fair is fair, if my time is over,

 

There wasn’t much said aloud when we lost our hold,

And the streets that we’ve seen look obscene but they’re paved with gold,

 

I’m walking home with the sound of silence,

Trying not to kill the mood,

Things we say dissipate like an old flame,

Don’t ask what I tried to make,

I am a stray,

 

A few words of advice were given,

A few things I’ve done I want unwritten,

Can’t find the ground even now you’re a kind of smoke,

And I solemnly swear I don’t know if I used you both,

 

I’m walking home with the sound of silence,

Trying not to kill the mood,

Things we say dissipate like an old flame,

Don’t over think what we made,

I am a stray,

 

You asked where I came from,

The answer was too long,

See you like a summer storm the kind that can remind you what your name is,

And in the safe place you confide you’ll never know what’s right until you taste it,

 

I’m walking home with the sound of silence,

Trying not to kill the mood,

Things we say dissipate like an old flame,

I wish you were here today,

I am a stray,

I am a stray.

2 thoughts on “I Am A Stray

Leave a Reply

