I Won A Halloween Toothpaste Art Contest!

I follow an amazing Halloween themed website/blog called i-mockery, and a couple weeks ago they held an October contest where you had to create an art piece picture purely out of toothpaste. Excitedly, my best friend Josh and I drove to the store to find the perfect colors of paste.

I came up with the idea that it’s Halloween night, and all the ghouls, ghosts, goblins and witches are fighting to reach the one and only remaining Hershey’s pumpkin spice kiss. Keeping this concept in mind, Josh and I found some great green toothpastes, red ones, and a simple white as well. Josh, with his artistic eye, kept us on track of not going too overboard with color, keeping it simple and effective.

The first layer of toothpaste.

We spent quite a few hours on our piece, using syringes to add fine detail, tweezers, pallet knives, and Q-tips to clean up the edges. We call it “Halloween’s Last Kiss”. There were some other great entries, but today I found out that I won 1st place!!

October, as you may or may not know, is my favorite month. I love everything about it and Halloween. I enter contests as much as anyone I suppose, never winning but figuring what the heck. This was the first one in a long time that I REALLY wanted to win. And just when I thought this month couldn’t get any better, it did.

Thank you Josh Luna for being such a great friend and helping me make a winning piece!

“Halloween’s Last Kiss”
2 thoughts on “I Won A Halloween Toothpaste Art Contest!

  1. Pingback: Toothpaste Art « Gradient Productions

  2. Pingback: A Successfully Spooky Month « iamsphinx

Leave a Reply

