Holding out for a Sequel

It’s a sad fact in life that not all you’re a fan of will be deemed sequel-worthy.

Such is the case here, where some of my favorite movies and video games stand alone in their glory. One-hit-wonders would be a misnomer; I enjoy them from time to time, only feeling that disappointment when the credits roll and I know nothing new is coming…

For now.

Costume Quest (2010)

The dialogue is some of the wittiest out there

If you haven’t figured it out already, I love October and anything Halloween inspired. So it’s no grand surprise this made my list. But, dammit, this is actually a fun, beautiful, well-written Halloween themed game (of which few exist)! Sure the actual gameplay gets a little redundant but that isn’t what makes this game special. It’s the stunning art direction and moods saturating the experience. It becomes, for us Halloween lovers, rather cathartic. Re-living the excitement of being a kid trick-or-treating is something we all wish we could regain. But as more time passes, the likelihood of that, like the possibility of a sequel, diminishes.

The Fifth Element (1997)

“Leeloo Dallas multi-pass! Mul-ti-pass!!”

I’m going to admit something very personal now: I had the biggest crush on Leeloo (Milla Jovovich)! …What? You mean it’s not surprising? What, you’re telling me I’m not the only one with that secret?

I held out the hope pretty much through my adolescent years that a sequel to The Fifth Element would come about. But no. Maybe it’s better it never happened. Maybe not. We’ll never know.

This was before Gary Oldman had the same cool-mysterious-swagger effect on audiences

Okami (2008)

I couldn’t find a screenshot that does it justice!

For any on the fence on whether video games can be art, play this game. It’s not simply like playing a painting, it’s like playing your freakin’ imagination!

Constantine (2005)

Ok not everyone liked this as much as I did. I don’t know. Maybe it was my love of Rachel Weisz and my remembering her in The Mummy. Or the (still cool) special effects involving demon slaying/mythology/holy guns and a decent script.

Sphinx and the Cursed Mummy (2003)

I wanted to live here

This game is downright gorgeous. The first, and last, ancient egyptian game to hit the PS2, I explored every accessible area and collected every possible item. Though the ending was a frustrating cliffhanger, a sequel that adressed some of the weaker points would’ve been incredible. It still could, I suppose.

Shaun of the Dead (2004)

I still quote this movie

This is an example where the script couldn’t have been better. The entire film is witty, often smart in the humor, and unrestricted. There’s even a couple tear jerkers for good measure. I want a sequel, but not really. There’s no way it could live up to the original.

Clive Barker’s Jericho (2007)

The Jericho Squad. Badass.

Master horror writer Clive Barker delivers a satisfyingly spooky story in Jericho. At least until the end, but I get the feeling that wasn’t entirely his decision. I came to genuinely care about the characters and used their supernatural abilities in any number of combos. The ending screamed sequel. So why isn’t there one?

The monster designs are still some of the coolest

Silent Hill 3 (2003)

The only Silent Hill game to feature a female protagonist, this entry has arguably the best story of all other iterations in the series. Of the other main characters, I found her to be the least irritating and the most interesting. Though I dislike the new voice acting of the HD version, it is still one of the scariest games today.

Tell me: what are some movies/games/whatever you’d like a sequel to?

Leave a Reply

